In Ohio, purchasing motor vehicle insurance is mandatory. If you are caught operating your vehicle without proof of financial responsibility coverage (FR) or allowing another driver to operate your vehicle without insurance, you will be subject to heavy penalties, even if you are a first-time offender.
In spite of this strict state law, if you drive your car and are injured in an accident caused by someone else, you may still be able to recover damages. Our Cincinnati car accident lawyers explain how being uninsured affects you in a collision.
Contact our office for a free, no-obligation consultation with one of our qualified lawyers.
Ohio Penalties For Not Having Insurance
If you are given a traffic ticket or are involved in an accident and cannot provide proof of FR coverage, the penalties for breaking Ohio’s financial responsibility law are as follows:
- First offense: Your driver’s license and vehicle registration will be suspended until a $100 restoration fee is paid. The court may issue other fines as it sees fit.
- Second offense: Driver’s license and vehicle registration are suspended for one full year. After providing proof of FR coverage, limited driving privileges may be allowed after a 15-day period, however, a $300 fee is required to restore vehicle registration and license plates. Other penalties could be issued by the court.
- Third and subsequent offenses: The third offense will result in the loss of a driver’s license and vehicle registration suspension for two years. Drivers may be granted limited driving privileges after a 30-day period with proof of FR coverage, but a $600 restoration fee to restore vehicle registration and license plates will apply. Other penalties may be issued by the court.
In addition to these penalties, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) requires suspended drivers to carry high-risk insurance coverage for three to five years.
You may also face a security suspension if you are uninsured and at-fault for an accident that causes bodily harm and/or more than $400 in property damage. If this penalty applies, you must meet the following requirements to get your license and driving privileges restored:
- Complete a two-year suspension of your license and driving privileges
- Submit a damages payment agreement or have all parties sign a release for the losses
- Pay a damages deposit to the BMV or file a bankruptcy petition. List the accident claim as a creditor
How Ohio’s Tort Law Applies If You Are At Fault
Ohio’s tort law means the at-fault driver is financially responsible for all of an accident victim’s medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering. If you cause an accident and have no insurance, you are personally and financially responsible, and the accident victim or their insurance company can sue you to recover damages.
If You Have No Insurance But Are Not At Fault
If you are uninsured and involved in an accident, but you are not at-fault, the responsible party will be liable for the damages he or she caused you. You may file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company, if he or she has coverage, or pursue a lawsuit if he or she is uninsured. However, you will still face the penalties for driving without insurance.
Contact A Qualifies Lawyer For Help With Your Claim
If you were injured in a car accident caused by someone else’s negligence, find out how we may be able to help you recover certain losses, including medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
The experienced Cincinnati car accident attorneys of O’Connor, Acciani & Levy are dedicated to helping car accident victims recover damages caused by a negligent driver.
Schedule your free, no obligation consultation today to discuss your legal options. We do not collect any payment unless we are successful in getting compensation for your damages.