Types of Paralysis | Paraplegia and Quadraplegia

Types of Paralysis

November 9, 2021 | By O'Connor Acciani & Levy
Types of Paralysis

Dealing with the loss of movement or sensation in one or more parts of your body after an accident is daunting. Your life, as well as the lives of your loved ones, changes forever following a paralysis injury. However, there are several types of paralysis that manifest in multiple ways. The injury can be partial or complete, meaning you may have some or no control over the affected muscles, as well as temporary or permanent in nature. These attributes can apply to any of the below paralysis categories.

Location of Paralysis

Different categories of paralysis affect different body parts. The location and severity of a spinal injury will determine which body parts are paralyzed and to what extent.


Monoplegia is the loss of feeling or movement in only one limb, such as an arm or a leg.


Most people associate paraplegia with losing the use of both legs. However, it can affect everything from the middle of your torso to your feet, which can also impact digestion.


Quadriplegia is the loss of feeling from the neck down. A person with this form of paralysis will have limited or no use of their arms, torso, pelvic region, or legs. It can impact the heart, lungs, and other organs. The degree of function retained depends on whether the paralysis injury is complete or partial.

Hemiplegia and Diplegia

Hemiplegia paralyzes one side of the body, while diplegia impacts both sides of the face instead of the arms or legs. These forms of paralysis normally occur after a stroke, as opposed to a traumatic accident.

Learn More about the Types of Paralysis from a Knowledgeable Attorney Today

No matter what type of paralysis you are dealing with after your accident, you deserve a proactive attorney in your corner to help you recover your losses. Reach out to the compassionate lawyers O'Connor, Acciani and Levy to learn how you can recover compensation to rebuild your life.